Birds in my Garden

One of the things I enjoy is feeding the birds so I have a variety of bird feeders in the garden to attract different kinds of birds.

Mostly I get the usual Blue tits, Coal tits and Great tits, Blackbirds, Thrushes, Sparrows, Starlings, Robins and Collared doves, but recently I have been getting Great spotted woodpecker and a Treecreeper.

While I was observing the feeders through my scope I managed to get some pictures of the treecreeper through the scope.

I usually only see Treecreeper when out in wooded areas and have never seen one in my garden before.

It was eating the fat cake which I hang up on the tree for the birds. The fat is quite soft compared with that found in the fat balls, so it is only suitable for putting out in the winter when it is quite cold. In the summer it would quickly melt.

Female Blackbird
A Female Blackbird
A Starling
A Blue tit

Hopefully I can get a photograph of the Great spotter woodpecker.

3 thoughts on “Birds in my Garden

  1. Madhu March 4, 2013 / 10:09 pm

    Oh they are all gorgeous Jane!

    • janeslog March 5, 2013 / 7:56 pm

      There are a variety of birds which come to the feeders. I keep hoping a rare bird will appear.

      One of my friends from the birdwatching group is just back from a birding trip to India.

      • Madhu March 5, 2013 / 7:59 pm

        R’s dad used to be a forest officer. We could identify more than a 100 species when we accompanied him on his camps to forest reserves in the South. Wouldn’t be able to name even a handful now sadly 😦

Leave a Reply

