Paradise

When the Jehovah’s Witnesses came to my door and asked me if I would like to live in Paradise, I replied I already had lived in Paradise. Paradise to me is a small island off the West coast of Scotland – Arran.

Arran is a 1.05 hour train journey to Ardrossan and an hour’s ferry crossing to Brodick. This island is very dear to me as my ancestors came from crofting communities in the mid 18th century to find work in the heavy engineering industries in Glasgow and Motherwell.

Beinn Nuis
Footpath up Goat Fell
Looking down from Goat Fell to Brodick
From Goat Fell can be seen the islands of Cumbrae
The ferry arriving at Brodick

Goat Fell in the largest mountain on Arran. It is quite a hard climb but some fit people can run up the hill and back!

We all have a paradise. Where’s your paradise?

7 thoughts on “Paradise

  1. shimidelica January 3, 2014 / 9:04 pm

    My paradise is up the west coast of Scotland. Anywhere between Arisaig and Malaig. I’ve camped up there a few times and if you’re lucky enough to get the weather, as with anywhere in Scotland, it’ll give anywhere in the world a run for it’s money.

    • janeslog January 4, 2014 / 8:49 am

      I agree it is nice up there as well having cycled from Fort William to Glasgow. Nice quiet roads and plenty of space.

  2. tootlepedal January 3, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    Langholm but Arran runs it close.

  3. Max January 4, 2014 / 12:42 am

    Thanks for your blog. I have lived all my adult life in and around Sydney Australia but, having grown up in Hamilton, Scotland, I do enjoy seeing your photos of familiar places. If beautiful landscapes are what makes a place heavenly then although Scotland is hard to beat, I suspect heaven is somewhere in New Zealand. Perhaps a place called Akaroa.

    Keep up the good work.

    Max.

    • janeslog January 4, 2014 / 8:48 am

      Hamilton is nearby. Just now the Clyde has burst its banks at Rosebank and Strathclyde Park is getting a make-over as it will be used to host the triathlon at the Commonwealth games in July.

    • janeslog January 4, 2014 / 8:44 am

      People have different ideas of paradise. Friends of mine used to go the Spanish islands on holiday but have decided to go further afield to Jamaica because they have not found their paradise.

      When they went to Majorca, Ibiza etc all they did was go clubbing at night and then spend the day lying on the beach recovering from a hangover. No wonder they never found their paradise.

Leave a Reply

