Drummond Trophy Cycle Race, 2015

The Drummond Trophy is a cycle race around the roads of Strathaven (pronounced Stray-vin) in South Lanarkshire. Strathaven is a small rural town and the surrounding roads, apart from the busy Ayr Road, are pretty quiet. It was held today (19th April) in quite cold and windy conditions.

The race is held in April every year and is sponsored by Norrie Drummond the bookmaker. Norrie was a cycle racer when he was young and the family bookmakers have sponsored the race now for 60 years. Photographs of the race can be seen here.

Drummond Trophy winner 2015 Karol Domagalski – Raleigh GAC

Glasgow cycling club, Glenmarnock Wheelers, are the race organisers and they put a lot of effort into running the event. It is always organised in a very professional manner and the club also arrange for service cars to help riders with mechanical problems while on the course. The St Andrew’s Ambulance Service also provide medical assistance when required by riders (and spectators) who suffer an injury or medical problem during the race.

There were also plenty of marshalls on the course guilding both riders and spectators during the event and making sure dropped riders did not get lost. The roads around Strathaven are quite numerous and it is easy to get lost if unfamiliar with the area.   

The race is between 80 and 100 miles in length and is open to Elite, 1st, 2nd and 3rd cat riders offering the 3rd cats the chance to ride against pro and semi pro riders. Previous winners of the Drummond include the late Jason MacIntyre, Raleigh pro Evan Oliphant and Commonwealth Games medalist James McCallum. 

The roads around Strathaven are pretty hilly and the Drummond is always a tough test for the riders who come from all parts of the UK and beyond.

Evan Oliphant was second
Third place was Gary Hand SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team

I took my Brompton folding bike and cycled along the route to catch the riders. I was unable to carry my heavy Canon ‘L’ lenses on the bike so took a smaller lens which was reasonably good for picture taking.


More photographs can be seen here.

The top 10 result:   

Pos Forename Surname Club / Team Name Time
1 Karol Domagalski  Raleigh GAC 03:32:50
2 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC at42
3 Gary Hand SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team 1’06
4 Brad Morgan Raleigh GAC
5 Harry Tanfield JLT Condor
6 James Moss MTS Cycle Sport 3.46
7 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura MGD
8 Carl Donaldson GS Metro 7.43
9 Jason Roberts Pro Vision Cycle Clothing
10 Sam Lowe Raleigh GAC 8.11

 It was a great day out despite the cold weather but at least the rain stayed off.

Further Information:

Glenmarnock Wheelers

British Cycling

Team Raleigh GAC

SportsGrub KUOTA Cycling Team

JLT Condor

9 thoughts on “Drummond Trophy Cycle Race, 2015

  1. Paul April 19, 2015 / 8:06 pm

    I live not far and have never heard of this. In my diary for next year, looks like a good photo opportunity!

    • janeslog April 19, 2015 / 8:24 pm

      Yes. It is a circuit race so plenty of photo opportunities. There is the Anderside Classic on Sunday June 7th which starts from Sandford near Strathaven. Unfortunately it is not normally a circuit race so it is more difficult to follow.

    • janeslog April 19, 2015 / 8:27 pm

      There is also an evening race in Motherwell on May 26th. The Pearl Izumi race. It will be on TV as well.

      • Paul April 19, 2015 / 9:29 pm

        Your a wealth of photographic knowledge Jane, thanks again!

      • janeslog April 20, 2015 / 6:27 am

        It will be good to watch. I’ll be taking my professional lenses that day.

  2. tootlepedal April 19, 2015 / 8:20 pm

    Good action shots. I see that your Brompton has been figuring in the general election coverage.

    • janeslog April 19, 2015 / 8:23 pm

      Has it? I must look out for them. I love my Brompton as I can take it on the train and buses and never have to worry about getting a space in them.

      • tootlepedal April 20, 2015 / 8:45 pm

        The Brompton factory was shown as an example of what we should be doing more of. I have thought of getting one to help with train travel.

      • janeslog April 21, 2015 / 7:12 am

        I also have a Dahon which lets me cycle a bit further than the Brompton but does not fold up so small. The Brompton lets me travel on trains without having to book the bike as is required on many rail services. On the Glasgow Inverness train there is only space for 2 bikes so with the Brompton I don’t have to worry as I take it inside the carriage with me.

        I can also take it on buses with me. When I go to the shops with the bike I take it with me – sometimes I don’t bother even folding it up but just walk through the shop picking up my groceries and wheeling the bike with my other hand. I picked the orange colour as they only had a white or orange one when I went to buy it and I preferred the orange one.

Leave a Reply

